3 Things I learned from My 3 Videos | 3 Video'dan Öğrendiğim 3 Şey

Eat That Frog, Don't Over Complicate, Habit Stacking | Ye O Kurbağayı, Fazla Karmaşıklaştırma, Alışkanlık İstifleme

Hi friend!

I hope you are doing well.

Today, I’ll be sharing 3 Things I learned from recording and uploading 3 videos to YouTube last week.

Let’s dive into that!

1) Eat that Frog (Brian Tracy)

If you have to eat two frogs, eat the ugliest one first.

Brian Tracy

I was planning to record my third video on Friday in morning but instead of doing that, I went to the Gym, as I hadn’t go to the gym in the last few days and I would not be able to go if I didn’t do it in the morning

My frog, the most difficult thing for me to record and upload the video but I preferred to go to the gym.

So my main learning from here; Do the most difficult thing in the morning! Don't procrastinate with other easy things.

2) Don't overcomplicate it or try to make it Perfect.

On Friday, I tried to record 4k and edit it on Adobe Premiere Pro instead of Adobe Rush.

It took so much time to edit and export. Also it took so much time to upload. In the end I was not able to make the things I want to do, I was not even upload it to Youtube as the file size was too big and taking to much time.

So, my learning; Keep it simple and short. Don’t overcomplicate things. It's difficult to edit, upload, and even watch. So I'll try to keep my first ten videos shorter than 10 minutes.

3) Don't try to stack two difficult things/ two new habits together

I’m not sure if you are familiar, but in the Habits literature, there is a term called “Habit Stacking“it basically means putting two habits, ideally one old habit and one new habit, together and trying to adopt this new habit.

An example can be after I brush my teeth, I will floss(from B.J. Fogg’s book Tiny Habits), or after I brew a cup of coffee, I will do 10 push-ups.

What I was trying was a bit different. I just started writing and publishing the daily newsletter at the beginning of December. However, I planned to stack another habit, daily video recording and uploading to YouTube.

Both writing and video recording are hard and new to me, and sometimes, video work takes up to 3-4 hours with edits and upload. And it’s not 100% in my control, even if I have the recording, uploading might take long time.

My learning: don’t try to stack two difficult/new habits.

Even now, I know I need to keep them separate, but I still have a thought of waiting and sending it with the video; I don’t know where it’s coming 🙂 . No, this time, I’ll send this immediately and separately. If you are interested, you can check my channels towards the end of the day!

As always, if you have any questions, comments, or suggestions, please feel free to reach out! Have an amazing day and a week!

Regards,

Merhabalar !

Bugün, geçen hafta YouTube'a 3 video kaydedip yüklerken öğrendiğim 3 şeyi paylaşacağım.

Hadi bu konuya gelelim!

1) O Kurbağayı Ye (Brian Tracy)

İki kurbağa yemeniz gerekiyorsa, önce en çirkinini yiyin.

Brian Tracy

Üçüncü videomu Cuma günü sabah kaydetmeyi planlıyordum ancak bunu yapmak yerine spor salonuna gittim çünkü son birkaç gündür spor salonuna gitmemiştim ve sabah yapmazsam gidemeyecektim.

Kurbağam, videoyu kaydetmek ve yüklemek benim için en zor şeydi ama spor salonuna gitmeyi tercih ettim.

Yani buradan çıkardığım ana ders; sabah en zor şeyi yap! Diğer kolay şeylerle ertelemeyin.

2) Aşırı karmaşıklaştırmayın veya Mükemmel hale getirmeye çalışmayın.

Cuma günü 4k kayıt yapmaya ve bunu Adobe Rush yerine Adobe Premiere Pro'da düzenlemeye çalıştım.

Düzenlemek ve dışa aktarmak çok zaman aldı. Ayrıca yüklemek de çok zaman aldı. Sonunda yapmak istediğim şeyleri yapamadım, dosya boyutu çok büyük olduğu ve çok zaman aldığı için Youtube'a bile yükleyemedim.

Yani, benim öğrendiğim; basit ve kısa tutun. İşleri fazla karmaşıklaştırmayın. Düzenlemek, yüklemek ve hatta izlemek zor. Bu yüzden ilk on videomu 10 dakikadan kısa tutmaya çalışacağım.

3) İki zor şeyi/iki yeni alışkanlığı bir araya getirmeye çalışmayın

Aşina mısınız bilmiyorum ama Alışkanlıklar literatüründe "Alışkanlık Yığma" diye bir terim vardır ve temelde iki alışkanlığı, ideal olarak bir eski ve bir yeni alışkanlığı bir araya getirip bu yeni alışkanlığı benimsemeye çalışmak anlamına gelir.

Örneğin dişlerimi fırçaladıktan sonra diş ipi kullanacağım (B.J. Fogg'un Tiny Habits kitabından) ya da bir fincan kahve içtikten sonra 10 şınav çekeceğim.

Benim denediğim şey biraz farklıydı. Günlük bülteni yazmaya ve yayınlamaya Aralık ayının başında başladım. Bununla birlikte, başka bir alışkanlığı, günlük video kaydetmeyi ve YouTube'a yüklemeyi planladım.

Hem yazmak hem de video kaydı benim için zor ve yeni bir iş ve bazen video çalışması, düzenlemeler ve yükleme ile birlikte 3-4 saati buluyor. Ve bu %100 benim kontrolümde değil, kaydı yapsam bile yüklemem uzun sürebiliyor.

Öğrendiğim şey; iki zor/yeni alışkanlığı üst üste koymaya çalışmayın.

Şimdi bile ikisini ayrı tutmam gerektiğini biliyorum ama yine de bekleyip videoyla birlikte gönderme düşüncem var; nereden geliyor bilmiyorum 🙂 . Hayır, bu sefer hemen ve ayrı olarak göndereceğim. Eğer ilgilenirseniz gün sonuna doğru kanallarıma bakabilirsiniz!

Her zaman olduğu gibi, herhangi bir sorunuz, yorumunuz veya öneriniz varsa, lütfen ulaşmaktan çekinmeyin! Harika bir gün ve hafta geçirin!

Saygılarımla,

Selim